View all databases

for an alphabetical listing of all databases

Comprehensive info about U.S. states and territories. Profiles of men and women; biographies of presidents; information on major Native American tribes; U.S. history timelines; and an almanac.

Selected sections of local, regional, & national U.S. newspapers and newsmagazines all in one easy-to-search database. Text-only.

Search family history through census, birth, marriage, military, & death records, passenger lists & more.


Find answers to your questions 24/7. If an answer isn’t readily available, submit the question and receive a response from Library District staff. Ask Us! also is a collaborative Q&A site — submit your question and it might be added to our growing database of local community information.

Find vehicle repair & maintenance information, repair procedures, service bulletins, recalls, wiring diagrams, & labor costs. NOTE: Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9...

Find brief & in-depth, contemporary & historical biographies from book sources online. (Formerly known as Biography Resource Center)

Enhance your reading experience with enticing tidbits about books & authors you love, and find new titles & writers of interest.

Contains full-text book reviews for more than 200,000 children's books.

Comprehensive tool that provides demographic data. Allows prospective entrepreneurs, long-time business owners & students to collect, analyze & act quickly upon data.

A beginner's Spanish language encyclopedia and reference tool. Offers editorial content, media, and features in Spanish. Includes visual dictionary.

Search, find & request books from libraries across the USA.

For all ages, with homework help and teacher resources. Sources include electronic magazines, newspapers, almanacs, encyclopedias, and books. Topics include Current Events, education, business, technology, and health.

Full-text of selected Florida newspapers. Includes Florida Times-Union, Orlando Sentinel, Tampa Tribune, Ocala Star-Banner, St. Petersburg Times & more.

Find foundation & public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, & other individual grantseekers.

Full text from 3/7/1995-Current

Index of local articles from the Gainesville Sun newspaper from 1986-1999. Cited articles are available on microfilm. Earlier material is available in a card catalog index at Headquarters.

Index of local articles from the Gainesville Sun newspaper from 2000-2007. Cited articles are available on microfilm.

Download & print legal forms & information for family law, real estate, leases, small business, wills, & much more.

Access reference books on several subjects including business, environment, history, medicine, science, philosophy, & religion.

Access a wealth of health resources. Includes magazine, journal, and newspaper articles about health, medications, diseases, and conditions. Read full-text entries from reference resources.

Free online homework help. Expert tutors. All core subjects (grades K-12 and college)

Alachua County Library District’s collection of more than 250 digitized historical photographs of local landmarks, family portraits, community events, natural disasters, historic maps & more.

Search family history through census, book, PERSI, Revolutionary War, Freedman’s Bank & U.S. Serial Set records.

A one-stop source for magazine, journal & newspaper articles on a range of topics: current events, education, environmental issues, humanities, politics, science, sports, technology & more.

Offers personality assessments, resume & cover letter templates, live interview practice, local job search websites, & more.

Career and learning resources that include live tutoring, personal resume & writing assistance, Microsoft Office basics, and GED & U.S. Citizenship test prep.

With Junior Reference Collection, students have current, relevant, organized, easy-to-read information at their fingertips. The entries are thorough; in depth; and written in clear, concise terms at an appropriate reading level.

Provides comprehensive info on countries, cultures, and current events. Includes an encyclopedia; an electronic atlas; an almanac; world newspapers; and “culture cross,” an interactive feature comparing two continents.

Prepare & practice for tests: GED, AP, ACT, SAT, GRE, U.S. Citizenship, CDL, ASVAB, real estate, nursing, teaching & many others.

Research authors & literature with critical, biographical & contextual materials on literary authors from around the world.

Research literature from all time periods. Find full-text poems, short stories, essays, speeches, and plays.

Search a wide variety of popular magazines and journals from your Android, iPhone, iPad or other mobile device.

Search magazines, journals, & reference materials on a variety of subjects: business, health, education, science & much more.

Research stocks & mutual funds and find other helpful financial tools.

Find full-text newspaper articles across the USA. Access the Gainesville Sun, Ocala Star Banner, Florida Times Union, New York Times, USA Today, & thousands more.

Find books children and teens will love to read and get additional resources available for parents, teachers and librarians.

Find books you will love to read, search for similar books and get reading recommendations for fiction and nonfiction.

Enjoy free digital media on your home computer or portable media player. The collection has audiobooks, e-books, music and videos. New materials added every month.

Learn Spanish, French, German, Chinese, & ESOL focusing on listening, speaking, reading, grammar & pronunciation skills.

Access phone & contact information for people and businesses in the U.S. Includes company & industry profiles.

Features 8,000 technology titles covering enterprise computing, Java, Linux, Unix, Web development, Windows, XML, and more. Also over 1,500 e-reference business titles covering problem solving, leadership, customer service and employee performance.

Complete coverage of all science disciplines. Features science experiments and activities; articles highlighting recent scientific events and discoveries; printable diagrams, illustrations and images; and videos and flash animations.

Covers all major areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business: financing, management, marketing, accounting, taxes and more.

An online collection of animated, talking picture books that children can read or have read to them.

These Read-Alongs highlight sentences as they are being read and turn the page automatically. The collection features picture books, early readers, chapter books, middle school readers, YA/teen Novels, children's classics, classics and Shakespeare.

Access the latest investment information on companies, industries, stocks, mutual funds and more.

Fast, efficient online legal research designed for the public as well as attorneys. Limited access at Headquarters, as part of the Murphree Law Library collection.

Online reference source containing every article from the 22-volume print encyclopedia, plus thousands more.

Students, need help doing research? Info Finder gives you research tools, virtual tours, Science projects, a biography center and quick access to newspapers and Current Events.

The extensive resources of the World Book Encyclopedia, optimized for Android, iPhone and other mobile devices.

Online reference source containing every article from the 22-volume print encyclopedia, plus thousands more.

Una coleccion de revistas hispanicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnologia, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.