Award-winning books

The Newbery Awards
The Newbery Award is the world's first award specifically for the writing of children's books.

The Caldecott Awards
The Caldecott Award came about as a response to the Newbery Award, and recognizes achievements in the illustration of children's books.

The Coretta Scott King Awards
The Coretta Scott King award recognizes the best work by African American authors in children's lit and young adult fiction.

The Orbis Pictus Awards
The Orbis Pictus award goes to the best book of nonfiction written for children.

The Costa (formerly Whitbread) Awards
The Costa Children's book award goes to the best book of the year by a writer based in the UK and Ireland.

The Batchelder Awards
The Batchelder award goes to the best children's book published in the United States in English but originally published outside the US and in a foreign language.

The Printz Awards
The Printz Award recognizes the best young adult book of the year and as many as four Honor Books.