The 2019 Edgar Award Winners

Mystery Writers of America is proud to announce the Winners for the 2019 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction and television published or produced in 2018. The Edgar® Awards were presented on April 25, 2019. And the winners are...

Best NovelDown the River Unto the Sea

Down the River Unto the Sea by Walter Mosley

Best First Novel by an American Author

Bearskin by James A. McLaughlin

Best Paperback Original

If I Die Tonight by Alison Gaylin

Best Fact Crime

Tinderbox: The Untold Story of the Upstairs Lounge Fire and the Rise of Gay Liberation by Robert W. Fieseler

Best Critical/Biographical

Classic American Crime Fiction of the 1920s by Leslie S. Klinger

Best Short Story

"English 398: Fiction Workshop" - Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine by Art Taylor

Best JuvenileThe Widows of Malabar Hill

Otherwood by Pete Hautman

Best Young Adult

Sadie by Courtney Summers

Best Television Episode Teleplay

"The One That Holds Everything" - The Romanoffs, Teleplay by Matthew Weiner & Donald Joh

Robert L. Fish Memorial Award

"How Does He Die This Time?" - Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine by Nancy Novick

The Simon & Schuster Mary Higgins Clark Award

The Widows of Malabar Hill by Sujata Massey

The G.P. Putnam's Sons Sue Grafton Memorial Awards

Shell Game by Sara Paretsky