National Book Critics Circle Award for 2018

The National Book Critics Circle awards are given each March and honor literature published in the United States in six categories—autobiography, biography, criticism, fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. These are the only national literary awards chosen by critics themselves. 


Milkman by Anna Burns

General Nonfiction 

Directorate S: The C.I.A. and America's Secret Wars in Afghanistan by Steve Coll


Belonging: A German Reckons with History and Home by Nora Krug


Flash: The Making of Weegee the Famous by Christopher BonanosThe Carrying


Feel Free: Essays by Zadie Smith


The Carrying by Ada Limón

John Leonard Prize

There There by Tommy Orange