2017 Hugo Award Winners at the Library

An explanation of The Hugo Awards from their website:
"The Hugo Awards, presented annually since 1955, are science fiction’s most prestigious award. The Hugo Awards are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention (“Worldcon”), which is also responsible for administering them."

The list below does not contain all the Hugo Award winners, only the ones the library carries or can link to the content. To see the full list please visit The Hugo Awards homepage.

Obelisk gate cover Best Novel: The Obelisk Gate by NK Jemisin
"The second novel in a new fantasy trilogy by Hugo, Nebula & World Fantasy Award nominated author N.K. Jemisin. THIS IS THE WAY THE WORLD ENDS... FOR THE LAST TIME. The season of endings grows darker, as civilization fades into the long cold night. Essun has found shelter, but not her daughter. Instead there is Alabaster Tenring, destroyer of the world, with a request. But if Essun does what he asks, it would seal the fate of the Stillness forever."

 Best Novella: Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire
"Sent away to a home for children who have tumbled into fantastical other worlds and are looking for ways to return, Nancy triggers dark changes among her fellow schoolmates and resolves to expose the truth when a child dies under suspicious magical circumstances."

Best Short Story: Season of Glass and Iron by Amal El-Mohtar (read it online via the link)

 Best Related Work: Words Are My Matter: Writings About Life and Books, 2000-2016 by Urula K LeGuin
"A brilliant collection showcases the essays, reviews, talks, book reviews and more from the National Book Foundation Medalist author and one of our foremost public literary intellectuals."

 Best Graphic Story: Monstress, Volume 1: Awakening written by Marjorie Liu, illustrated by Sana Takeda
"Set in an alternate matriarchal 1900's Asia, in arichly imagined world of art deco-inflected steam punk, MONSTRESS tells thestory of a teenage girl who is struggling to survive the trauma of war, and whoshares a mysterious psychic link with a monster of tremendous power, aconnection that will transform them both and make them the target of both humanand otherworldly powers."

 Best Series: The Vorkosigan Saga by Lois McMaster Bujold
"Three years after her famous husband’s death, Cordelia Vorkosigan, widowed Vicereine of Sergyar, stands ready to spin her life in a new direction. Oliver Jole, Admiral, Sergyar Fleet, finds himself caught up in her web of plans in ways he’d never imagined, bringing him to an unexpected crossroads in his life."

 John W Campbell award for best new writer: Ada Palmer
"The year 2454 introduces an atmosphere that is entirely unlike our own: one in which technology and economics rule, gender and social norms are taboo, and religion is outlawed but spirituality is accepted. Carlyle Foster's position as a sensayer allows him to counsel people in the ways that the world could be. However, arriving at his newest assignment, he encounters a child with living, bleeding, plastic toy soldiers, and a convict serving the family—Mycroft Canner. The existence of one young boy who can make his wishes come true could threaten this utopian system."

Posted by SallyB on August 16, 2017