Dear Girls by Ali Wong

book cover of Ali Wong sleeping on a chairDear Girls: intimate tales, untold, secrets, and advice for living your best life by Ali Wong

Intimate?  Oh my goodness!  I'd say it's beyond intimate.  Ali Wong is known for her unfiltered comedy and she doesn't hold back in her first book.  Dear Girls is a collection of letters to her 2 daughters Mari and Nikki, whom I hope doesn't get ahold of this book until after their teenage years.  Her letters provide honest advice on men, sex, marriage, and having a career.  The stories range from enlightening to gross and yet I couldn't put it down.  Her sharp insights and humor are even more personal than her hit standup performance on Netflix called Baby Cobra.

Ali Wong is also a bookish celebrity that recently shared her top picks on Goodreads for the summer which are:

Pachinko book coverPachinko
by Min Jin Lee

A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. Pachinko follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity

 

on earth we are briefly gorgeous book coverOn Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous
by Ocean Vuong

Brilliant, heartbreaking, tender, and highly original - poet Ocean Vuong's debut novel is a sweeping and shattering portrait of a family, and a testament to the redemptive power of storytelling. On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous is a letter from a son to a mother who cannot read. Written when the speaker, Little Dog, is in his late twenties, the letter unearths a family's history that began before he was born--a history whose epicenter is rooted in Vietnam--and serves as a doorway into parts of his life his mother has never known, all of it leading to an unforgettable revelation. At once a witness to the fraught yet undeniable love between a single mother and her son, it is also a brutally honest exploration of race, class, and masculinity.

trick mirror book coverTrick Mirror: Reflections on Self-Delusion
by Jia Tolentino 

Jia Tolentino is a peerless voice of her generation, tackling the conflicts, contradictions, and sea of changes that define us and our time. Now, in this dazzling collection of nine entirely original essays, written with a rare combination of give and sharpness, wit and fearlessness, she delves into the forces that warp our vision, demonstrating an unparalleled stylistic potency and critical dexterity.

Trick Mirror is an enlightening, unforgettable trip through the river of self-delusion that surges just beneath the surface of our lives. This is a book about the incentives that shape us, and about how hard it is to see ourselves clearly through a culture that revolves around the self. In each essay, Tolentino writes about a cultural prism: the rise of the nightmare social internet; the advent of scamming as the definitive millennial ethos; the literary heroine's journey from brave to blank to bitter; the punitive dream of optimization, which insists that everything, including our bodies, should become more efficient and beautiful until we die. Gleaming with Tolentino's sense of humor and capacity to elucidate the impossibly complex in an instant, and marked by her desire to treat the reader with profound honesty, Trick Mirror is an instant classic of the worst decade yet.

 

Need help with Overdrive? Contact us with questions Monday-Saturday 9:30 a.m.- 5 p.m.

Call 352-334-3939

Text 352-578-1184

Email ask@aclib.libanswers.com

Visit www.aclib.us/askus to chat