Girl, Serpent, Thorn by Melissa Bashardoust

author melissa bashardoust

 

Soraya is a princess, but she was cursed to be poisonous to the touch since birth. She has lived her life hidden away, apart from her family, safe only in her gardens. Below, in the dungeon is a demon who holds the answer to her freedom. Above, is a young man who isn’t afraid of her, whose eyes linger not with fear, but with an understanding of who she is beneath the poison. Who is she becoming...human or demon? Princess or monster?

This is an extremely unique kind of retelling. A Persian style retelling of Sleeping Beauty with so many twists and surprises it will have youGirls Made of Snow and Glass bookcover guessing until the last page. The main character Soraya is a complex character who struggles with her own shortcomings and dealing with her mixed emotions concerning her family. Full of Persian mythology and folk tales, this enthralling story will leave you questioning who is the demon.

Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer, Marie Lu, Serena Valentino, Roshani Chokshi, Claudia Gray, and Laura Sebastian. Check out Melissa Bashardoust's other book Girls Made of Snow and Glass.