Home Home by Lisa Allen-Agostini

Home Home Transplanted, excised, dropped in the middle of nowhere. Moving is disorienting on a good day but moving timezones, countries, climates, cultures, and families is worse. Kayla's journey with anxiety and depression have brought her to Edmonton and the home of her Aunt and her Aunt's partner. Her best friend is thousands of miles away back in Trinidad and the thin strings that have enabled her to cope are fraying. 

Home Home opens a window into the experience of depression and anxiety in a stark way that gives the reader an impression of how long and twisting the path to mental health can be. Kayla's journey is not for the faint of heart but there is a lot to be said for the honest depiction of mental illness and the healing that comes from a strong supportive community and empathetic caregivers. 

Trigger warnings for readers: homophobia, suicidal ideation, mental health hospitalization, troubled parent relationships, and the minimization of depression

 

If you read and enjoyed Home Home, try one of these read-alikes: 

 

Posted by Meaghan on March 16, 2021