The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud

amulet of samarkand book coverNathaniel is a young magician's apprentice, taking his first lessons in the arts of magic. But when a devious hotshot wizard named Simon Lovelace ruthlessly humiliates Nathaniel in front of everyone he knows, Nathaniel decides to kick up his education a few notches and show Lovelace who's boss. With revenge on his mind, he masters one of the toughest spells of all: summoning the all-powerful djinni, Bartimaeus. But summoning Bartimaeus and controlling him are two different things entirely, and when Nathaniel sends the djinni out to steal the powerful Amulet of Samarkand, Nathaniel finds himself caught up in a whirlwind of magical espionage, murder, blackmail, and revolt.

Set in a modern-day London spiced with magicians and mayhem, this extraordinary and entertaining thriller is perfect for fans of Artemis Fowl, His Dark Materials, and of course - Harry Potter. The Amulet of Samarkand is the first book in The Bartimaeus Trilogy by author Jonathan Stroud. Filled with a hilariously dry wit, mystery, and adventure this series has the rare honor of being both spectacular books and audiobooks!

If you like this title, check out The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson and The Fire Within by Chris D'Lacey!