Public Facilities Report

Alachua County Library District logo of open book with fluttering pages and Long Range Plan 2023-2027 with a map of library branches.

Who We Are

The Alachua County Library District is an independent special taxing district located in the Gainesville Metropolitan Area in North Central Florida. It is the sole provider of public library services within Alachua County (as established by Chapter 98-502, as amended by 03-376, Laws of Florida).

The Library District serves 271,588 Alachua County residents, 60 percent live in incorporated areas and 40 percent in unincorporated areas of the county. Incorporated municipalities include Gainesville (county seat), Alachua, Archer, Hawthorne, High Springs, LaCrosse, Micanopy, Newberry, and Waldo.

The Library District includes the Headquarters Library (downtown Gainesville) and large branches Millhopper Branch (northwest Gainesville) and Tower Road Branch (unincorporated southwest Gainesville). Also located in Gainesville are the Library Partnership and Cone Park branches that house neighborhood resource centers. Additional branches are located in these municipalities: Alachua, Archer, Hawthorne, High Springs, Micanopy, Newberry, and Waldo. The Library District’s eBranch oversees its website and virtual branch. The Library District operates two bookmobiles and provides library services to the Alachua County Jail.

Through reciprocal borrowing agreements, Library District patrons may borrow free of charge from public library systems in these surrounding counties: Baker, Bradford, Clay, Columbia, Dixie, Gilchrist, Lafayette, Levy, Marion, Putnam, St. Johns, Taylor, and Union.

Long Range Plan Priorities

1. Responsible management is the Library District’s highest priority and results in all Alachua County Residents receiving excellent and equitable library services that set a standard for Florida public libraries.
2. Services are diverse, community focused and continuously enhanced.
3. Collaborations are fostered with community groups to develop partnerships, strengthen civic engagement and promote library awareness.
4. Collections reflect our diverse communities in the format, scope and depth necessary to meet current and anticipated needs and interests.
5. Environment offers a positive library experience in our physical and virtual locations.
6. Staff is empowered by an environment of teamwork and a culture of continuous improvement in order to provide excellent service.

Mission Statement

A key to building a better community by creating opportunities to participate, connect and discover.

Core Values

Diversity of people and ideas. Free and equal access. Excellent and innovative service. Open exchange of ideas.

Governing Board

Marihelen Wheeler, Chair;
Dr. Leanetta McNealy, Vice-Chair;
Charles S. Chestnut, IV; Ken Cornell;
Desmon Duncan-Walker;
Harvey Ward

Board of Trustees

Kim Worley, Chair;
Scherwin L. Henry, Vice-Chair;
Linda Y. Jackson; Larry McDaniel
Dr. Ralph W. Rice; Dr. Sharlynn Sweeney;
Ester S. Tibbs

Management Team

Shaney T. Livingston
Library Director
Devonia L. Andrew
Assistant to the Library Director
Adam Brooks
Administrative Services Division Director
Wantanisha D. Morant
Human Resources Director
Christopher Cochran
Automated Services Administrator
Tamika Gadson
Financial Services Administrator
Steven Wargo
Facilities/Safety Services Administrator
Tony Littles
Facilities Maintenance Manager
Rachel Cook
Public Relations and Marketing Manager
Joyce West
Public Services Division Director
Renee Patterson
Public Services Administrator
Phillis Filer
Public Services Administrator
Emily Young
Public Services Administrator
Paul Lightcap
Technical Services Senior Manager
Susan Stanley
Adult Services Senior Manager
Susan Wright
Youth Services Senior Manager
Circulation Services Senior Manager
Ross Woodbridge
Alachua Branch Manager
Archer Branch Manager
Diane Johnson
Cone Park Branch Manager
Otto Pleil
eBranch Manager
Keith Harmon
Hawthorne Branch Manager
David H. Fuller, Jr
High Springs Branch Manager
Tina Bushnell
Library Partnership Branch Manager
Helena McNeer
Micanopy Branch Manager
Chiquita Powell
Millhopper Senior Branch Manager
Marlin E. Day
Newberry Branch Manager
Outreach Services Manager
Carolyn Wallace
Tower Road Senior Branch Manager
Kerry Dowd
Waldo Branch Manager

Alachua County Library District logo of open book with fluttering pages. | TTY Call 711
401 E. University Avenue, Gainesville

Alachua Branch
14913 NW 140 Street, Alachua

Archer Branch
13266 SW State Road 45, Archer

Cone Park Branch
2801 E. University Avenue, Gainesville

Hawthorne Branch
6640 SE 221 Street, Hawthorne

High Springs Branch
23779 W. U.S. Highway 27, High Springs

Library Partnership Branch
912 NE 16 Avenue, Gainesville

Micanopy Branch
706 NE Cholokka Boulevard, Micanopy

Millhopper Branch
3145 NW 43 Street, Gainesville

Newberry Branch
110 S. Seaboard Drive, Newberry

Tower Road Branch
3020 SW 75 Street, Gainesville

Waldo Branch
15150 NE US Highway 301, Waldo

Please visit for current hours.