Teen/Tween Book Club

Image
Teen Tween Book Club

January’s Teen/Tween Book Club will be meeting, as always, on the last Wednesday of the month.  For January, we will meet on Wednesday, January 25th at 4 p.m., and our selection is Gallant by V.E. Schwab. 

You can find this book in our catalog in various formats in our collection - please feel welcome to choose your ebook or physical copy. Join us in person at the Headquarters Teen Space, again on Wednesday, January 25th at 4 p.m. to discuss! Also, create an account and join us on our Goodreads group for book club discussions and updates on the next selection.

On Goodreads, we post weekly discussions and polls for members to discuss before the in-person meeting. Our book club works best for tweens and teens aged 11 to 17. 

Interested in other book clubs? The Alachua County Library District has several. You can find more information on our Book Clubs page.

Gallant

by
V.E. Schwab

#1 New York Times–bestselling author V. E. Schwab weaves a dark and original tale about the place where the world meets its shadow, and the young woman beckoned by both sides. The Secret Garden meets Crimson Peak in this stand-alone novel perfect for readers of Holly Black and Neil Gaiman.

Olivia Prior has grown up in Merilance School for Girls, and all she has of her past is her mother’s journal—which seems to unravel into madness. Then, a letter invites Olivia to come home to Gallant. Yet when Olivia arrives, no one is expecting her. But Olivia is not about to leave the first place that feels like home; it doesn’t matter if her cousin Matthew is hostile, or if she sees half-formed ghouls haunting the hallways.

Olivia knows that Gallant is hiding secrets, and she is determined to uncover them. When she crosses a ruined wall at just the right moment, Olivia finds herself in a place that is Gallant—but not. The manor is crumbling, the ghouls are solid, and a mysterious figure rules over all. Now Olivia sees what has unraveled generations of her family, and where her father may have come from.

Olivia has always wanted to belong somewhere, but will she take her place as a Prior, protecting our world against the Master of the House? Or will she take her place beside him?

Descriptions adapted from the publisher.
By LaurelC on December 15, 2022